A Quiet Night: December, 1916.

A Quiet Night: December, 1916

Light startles me awake – at first,
I think I sleep again amid the frost.
Then from the bed I raise my head
And see the moon – relax! I’m safe at home.

Inspired by  Li Po (701-762)

©2014 by Christine Plouvier. Winner of Second Place as part of a collection of poems, in the Adult category of the 1st Annual Peabody Public Library Poetry Contest, 2014. (See “We Have A Winner!” in the post, From the Slush Pile at the Irish Firebrands blog.

A Man Resting, near Arras. By William Orpen, 1917.
Courtesy Imperial War Museum, via Wikimedia Commons

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Letters to the Editor

